Board Of Directors

Tamara Lundgren

Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer

Tamara is our Company's Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer. She joined the Company in September 2005 as Vice President and Chief Strategy Officer and held roles of increasing responsibility, including Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer. She was elected President and CEO in 2008 and Chairman in 2020. Prior to joining Schnitzer, Tamara was an investment banker and lawyer with 25 years of experience in the U.S. and Europe, including as a Managing Director at JPMorgan Chase and Deutsche Bank in London and New York and a partner in the Washington, DC law firm of Hogan Lovells (then Hogan & Hartson, LLP). Tamara is a member of the Board of Directors of Ryder System, Inc., the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco, and the U.S. Chamber of Commerce. Ms. Lundgren is also a member of the President's Advisory Committee for Trade Policy and Negotiations, having been appointed by President Obama in 2016 and re-appointed by President Trump. Ms. Lundgren is also a member of the Business Roundtable and the President's Advisory Council of Wellesley College. She is a former Chairman of the Board of the U.S. Chamber and a former member of the Board of Parsons Corporation. Ms. Lundgren earned a B.A. degree from Wellesley College and a J.D. degree from the Northwestern University School of Law.

Wayland Hicks

Independent Director and Lead Director

Wayland has been a Director since April 2009 and our Lead Director since September 2014. Wayland served as Director and Vice Chairman of United Rentals, Inc. from 1998 until March 2009. At United Rentals, Inc., he also served as Chief Executive Officer from December 2003 until June 2007 and Chief Operating Officer from 1997 until December 2003. Wayland served as Chief Executive Officer and President of Indigo N.V. from 1996 to 1997 and as Vice Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Nextel Communications Corp. from 1994 to 1995. From 1967 to 1994, he held various executive positions with Xerox Corporation. Wayland holds a B.A. in Economics from Indiana University.

John Carter

Chairman Emeritus

John is our Company's Chairman Emeritus. He has been a Director since May 2005 and prior to being appointed Chairman Emeritus, John served as Schnitzer’s Chairman of the Board from December 2008 to March 2020. John was President and Chief Executive Officer of Schnitzer from May 2005 to December 2008. From 2002 to May 2005, John was engaged in a consulting practice focused primarily on strategic planning in transportation and energy for national and international businesses, as well as owning other small business ventures. From 1982 to 2002, John served in a variety of senior management capacities at Bechtel Group, Inc., including Executive Vice President and Director as well as President of Bechtel Enterprises, Inc. and other operating groups. He retired from Bechtel at the end of 2002. Prior to his Bechtel tenure, John was a partner in a San Francisco law firm. He is a director of Northwest Natural Gas Company and FLIR Systems, Inc. He is a graduate of Stanford University and Harvard Law School.

Rhonda D. Hunter

Independent Director

Rhonda has been a Director since October 2017. Rhonda served as Senior Vice President, Timberlands of Weyerhaeuser Company from 2014 until her retirement in January 2019. Ms. Hunter was Vice President, Southern Timberlandsof Weyerhaeuser from 2010 to 2014. Ms. Hunter held a number of leadership positions in the Southern Timberlands organization with experience in inventory and planning, regional timberlands management, environmental and work systems, finance, and land acquisition. She joined Weyerhaeuser in 1987 as an accountant. Ms. Hunter is a director of Interfor Corporation. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Accounting from Henderson State University and has completed executive education at Harvard Law School and Duke University.

David Jahnke

Independent Director

Dave has been a Director since January 2013. Dave worked for international accounting firm KPMG from 1975 until 2010. From 2005 to 2010, he was the Global Lead Partner for a major KPMG client and was located in KPMG's Zurich, Switzerland office. Prior to that time he held positions of increasing responsibility in KPMG, including Office Managing Partner and Audit Partner in Charge of the Minneapolis office from 1999 to 2004. Dave is a Certified Public Accountant in Minnesota and a director of First Interstate Bank System, Inc. where he is Chair of the Board and Directors and serves on the Executive Committee and the Governance and Nominating Committee. He is also a director of Swiss Re America Holding Corporation where he serves as Chairman of its Audit Committee and is a member of its Executive Committee. He holds a B.S. in Accounting from the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities.

Judith Johansen

Independent Director

Judi has been a Director since January 2006. Judi was the President of Marylhurst University in Portland, Oregon, a position she held from July 2008 to September 1, 2013. She was previously employed by PacifiCorp, an electric utility, as Executive Vice President of Regulation and External Affairs from December 2000 to December 2001 and served as President and Chief Executive Officer from December 2001 through March 2006. Judi was an Executive Director of ScottishPower plc until March 2006. She is a director of IDACORP and Idaho Power Company and Alorica, Inc. She earned her J.D. from Northwestern School of Law at Lewis & Clark College and her B.A. in Political Science from Colorado State University.

William Larsson

Independent Director

Bill has been a Director since March 2006. From 2000 until 2009, Bill served as Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Precision Castparts Corp. of Portland, Oregon. He joined Precision Castparts in 1980 as Vice President of Finance and became Vice President and Chief Financial Officer in 1993. Prior to that time he held various financial management positions with the Whiting Corporation, Wheelhorse Products Inc., and Ford Motor Company. Bill is a Director of Clearwater Paper Corporation. He earned a B.S. in Economics and a B.S. in Mathematics from the University of Oregon and a MBA from California State University at Long Beach.

Michael Sutherlin

Independent Director

Mike has been a Director since April 2015. Mike served as President and Chief Executive Officer of Joy Global, Inc., a manufacturer and servicer of mining equipment for the extraction of coal and other minerals and ores, from 2006 until 2013. He was Executive Vice President, President and Chief Operating Officer of Joy Global, Inc. from 2003 to 2006. Prior to that time Mike held positions of increasing responsibility for Varco International, Inc. including President and Chief Operating Officer and Division President. He currently serves as director of Peabody Energy Corporation and Tesco Corporation. Mike holds a Bachelor of Business Administration from the Texas Tech University and a MBA from the University of Texas at Austin.

Board Committees

Schnitzer has three standing committees comprised entirely of independent directors. The committees and their current membership are:

Audit Committee
  • David Jahnke (Chair)
  • Rhonda D. Hunter
  • William Larsson
  • Michael Sutherlin
Compensation Committee
  • Judith Johansen (Chair)
  • Wayland Hicks
  • David Jahnke
  • Michael Sutherlin
Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee
  • William Larsson (Chair)
  • Wayland Hicks
  • Rhonda D. Hunter
  • Judith Johansen

For committee charters, please see the Corporate Governance page.